DIY’ Canister Project

My daughter Ashley, who is also one of my best friends, gave me a set of  glass canisters with silver tops.  I looked at them, like I look at everything now, and wondered what can I do different to them?  Well since they are going in my new kitchen I thought I would do them to match my Pendant light that I had just redone.  So then I did the same thing to these as a did to the pendant light but in different order but achieved the same effect.

Silver topped canisters

Copper Painted which is finished coloring

Oil rubbed bronze finish

First took these plain-looking canisters. I lightly sanded the lids with 220 grit sandpaper.  Then took damp paper towel to remove excessive dust from them. Only paint the outer part of lid.  I sprayed them first with the Rustoleum Oil Rubbed Bronze finish paint, let dry.  Then sprayed them with the Rustoleum Copper paint not completely covering the bronze finish.  In order to achieve this effect you must not completely cover the first layer of paint.  This was one of the easiest painting projects I’ve done.Oil Rubbed Bronzed canisters

You could basically do this project with any jars with lids.

boy am I loving the spray painting technique.!

Leave a Reply

